New Year’s Resolutions

As soon as the glittery ball drops on New Year’s Eve, the resolutions of self improvement and betterment for the New Year begin. Now I’ve never been one to really make resolutions, or one’s that I have been able to stick to but instead have chosen four goals to guide me through 2012
1. Spend more time with family and friends
The holiday season is a time for family, friends and loved ones. This season showed how much I miss these people, and vow to keep in touch with them this year. A simple email or phone call talks less than 10 minutes, and can make you realize it isn’t all about school work.
2. Exercise….
I know it may sound cliche, but my busy college schedule leaves just the right amount of down time to take a nap or eat lunch. However daily exercise yields a variety of health benefits, and with the new running shoes I received, I really need to get to the gym. Plus, walking up Beacon Hill may be strenuous, but it can’t be my only form of exercise!
3. Get Organized
I believe that in life there are natural born organizers. The people who always know where everything is, and are always on top of things. Sadly, I am not one of these people. Organization has always been a struggle but this year I have a few goals on how to stay organized in the New Year.
Organize my Closet
Aside from my lack of natural organization skills, I am also a keeper, or as my mother affectionately says ‘a pack rat’. For me clothes tend to have a memory or feeling attached to them, as a result I still have clothes that I no longer wear, but can’t bear to throw away.
So I have decided to undertake the project of donating my old clothes to charity with some simple steps.
1. Put all your clothes in one place, then separate into three piles, Keep, Throw Out, and Not sure.
2. Sort through your Not Sure clothes, try things on, pair it with clothes in your Keep pile to see if you really need this piece.
3. Donate or sell you unwanted clothes back to charity. There are places such as Buffalo Exchange, or The Garment District in Boston, which could buy back your clothes. If you’re just looking to donate try a Salvation Army or a local center for the homeless or less fortunate.
By cleaning up your closet you are creating a space for new and exciting clothes, which will bring new memories.
4. Spruce up My Apartment
Aside from reorganizing my apartment, I have been on the hunt for ideas and pieces to spruce up my living space.
I found this fun decorative bird cage for only $6.00!
I found this Christmas tree on sale for $6.50, I think it will be perfect for hanging necklaces, bracelets and rings!
I also found these fun place mats with a matching table cloth on sale! I think it’ll bring a bit of spring into the kitchen!
5. Enjoy Life 
Now this may sound a bit hokey, but I feel that the past semester went by in a wave of stress. Stress may be a natural part of life, but in 2012 I am hoping to take a step back from the every day bustle. I’m hoping to travel to new parts of the city, read new books, focus on the positive and just take the stresses as they come.
Do you have any goals for the New Year? How do you plan on sticking to your resolutions? Leave a comment and let me know!
Leave a Reply

