How to Look Cute in the Rain

Today was a horribly rainy day, but the weather inspired me to write a post on how to look cute in rain. As a Boston girl, I’ve weathered some blustery rainy days, and here are a few tips on how to survive the rain in a stylish way!

  1. Much like the winter post, I must stress when it comes to the rain, function is extremely important. But you can still have fashion and function!
  2. Invest in a good pair of rain boots. While I love a deal, good boots are important because at the end of the day I would rather have dry feet than a cute, cheap pair of leaky boots.
  3. Purchase some high socks. High socks are great to wear with your rain boots, as they not only look stylish but they will also keep your legs super warm.
  4. Find a great rain coat or trenchcoat. I have been on the hunt for a trench coat with a hood for a few months, and the key to a great trench coat is water resistant material.
  5. Also don’t forget an umbrella!!!
Fun flannel
Flannel Fun
For this look I started with a nice dark wash jeans, a fun tie flannel shirt and a navy cardigan. For a coat I chose this adorable red cape, which matches perfectly with the boots. I love how these boots channel the typical look of heavy weather boots, but with the bright red color and heart buckle add a feminine touch.
Cheetah in the Rain
Cheetah in the Rain
This next outfit adds some animal print, in the form of a fun cheetah pattern. To start I love these heeled rain boots, they are so fashionable but super functional at the same time. Next I included a pair of black leggings, a long gray shirt, and a cheetah patterned scarf. To match the scarf, I added the handbag, the umbrella and some cute jewelry pieces from Betsey Johnson.

More Rainy day style

This look is more of an artsy vibe. For boots I included a pair of black Hunter boots, black socks, maroon tights, a black mini skirt and  a long sleeved striped shirt. For extra warmth I added a maroon cardigan to match the tights, and a long forest green rain coat. For accessories I added a black purse and a white beanie.

Singing in the rain
This is my favorite look of the four, because I tend to dress like the weather. When it’s wet and rainy I stick to dark and gray tones, but a bright red dress will brighten up any day! This dress is only $16 and matches with some red Hunter boots. I added a gray cardigan and a belt, to belt around the cardigan and dress, and a fun pearl necklace. For a coat, I chose this trench coat from Old Navy that’s on sale for $35.
Do you have a favorite rainy day ensemble? Any tips on how to stay dry? Comment below!
One thought on “How to Look Cute in the Rain

Leave a Reply

