Thanksgiving Threads: What to Wear to Turkey Time

Every Thanksgiving my family gets up at the crack of dawn to run in the Feaster Five, a 5k road race that gives an apple pie to every runner once the race is over. In my opinion it’s the best way to start a day full of stuffing your face, but moreover it’s a tradition. Thanksgiving is a holiday full of traditions from football games to fancy dinners, I have you covered in the clothing department. Read on for some Thanksgiving Threads!

The Classic Town Football Game

Every Thanksgiving my town has an annual football game. Everyone dons the school colors and huddles in the stands to watch our team (hopefully) win.

Football Time!

For this outfit I chose some black and red items, which are my high school’s colors, but you can easily substitute your town colors! To start I found these great black skinny jeans which can be worn with a white button up and a flannel, and the sweater on top, or just the white button up and the red sweater. For accessories I included a gray scarf, beanie and fingerless gloves so you can hold your hot apple cider! For footwear I love these wedges, but the flat lace up boots might be more practical for climbing up and down the stands.

Pilgrim Pretty

This outfit is for a nice but still pretty casual Thanksgiving with the family.

Pilgrim Pretty

I love peter pan collars, so lovely, so cute, and they evoke images of our Pilgrim friends. I chose these two dresses one because of it’s classic black and white palette, and the yellow dress was screaming FALL at me so I just had to add it. They are also a cute way to dress conservatively around family. The high neck will make your grandmother happy but the accessories from the tights to the shoes are something that will make you smile.

Sweet Separates

Pretty Thanksgiving
If dresses aren’t your’re thing but you still want to dress up a bit, a blouse and skirt combo is perfect for you! The skirt on the far left is all white lace, and matches with the black blouse that has an adorable bow applique. The middle ensemble features a $25 skirt from Kohl’s, that goes great with the white peter pan collar shirt. The outfit on the far right is a bi darker in color, with a black skirt from Romwe for $25, and an adorable maroon pussy bow blouse shirt.
Preppy in Pants
While I usually wear tights and skirts, as opposed to pants these are a few pant ensembles that will keep you cute and comfy at a more casual family party.
For these looks I started with some great jeans, two outfits use the same pair of dark wash blue jeans and the two looks in the middle have a black skinny jean and a dark maroon pant. To go with the pants I wanted to find some fun cardigans and tops, that will keep you warm but give you shape and style. On the left I found a great light brown wool sweater that would look great with a burnt orange scarf. To finish the look I included some desert wedge boots, and a nice watch that matches with the scarf. The next look features a cute button up cardigan, in one of my favorite colors, light pink. The pink bowed flats match the sweater, and the bow earrings pull it all together. To the right there is a lace white peter pan top, with maroon pants, and light grey heels. To match the heels, I added and adorable silver locket. For the final look I found this great ‘kimono’ style sweater from Modcloth. This top is perfect because of the tie, it will allow you to loosen it after you eat those 8 pieces of pumpkin pie. To finish the look there are a pair of off white wedge boots, a leather bracelet and a pair of bolt earrings by Marc Jacobs.
What do you think? Do you have a specific outfit that you wear on Thanksgiving? Any traditions? Share them!
Leave a Reply

