One Sweater Dress, Four Fun Ways to Wear It

It’s getting chillier by the week, which means I am searching the web and stores for great investment pieces for the upcoming winter season. I came across this gem of a black dress from Old Navy that rings up at $50. Now some of you might be thinking, that’s a bit much for a simple sweater dress, but this dress is a piece that can be reinvented with accessories and different shoes several times over. I’ve put together four outfits, that channel different looks, but all utilize the black sweater dress as it’s base.
Scarf Love
In my cold weather post I mentioned how great scarves can be. They can be as expensive or inexpensive as you want, and come in a variety of colors and patterns. Oh, and they also keep the winter chill away from your neck, which is important. So for this outfit I found this adorable floral scarf that matches the deep red cardigan. The cardigan is on the larger size which will cover a good part of the dress, and keep you toasty! For your legs I chose some black tights, and these fun gray over the knee boots.
Chic City Artist
City Chic Artist

I don’t know why, but when I see this outfit I just think artsy fashionista. For this outfit it’s all about the accessories, starting with the cute purple beanie that matches the purple thigh high socks. For foot wear these bow flats are adorable, and co ordinate with the gray cardigan. For jewelry I love this Unique Vintage Eiffel Tower necklace, that will stand out against the black of the dress. To top off the look I included a cute cape from Modcloth.

Peter Pan Polished
This might be my favorite outfit out of the four, because I am head over heels in love with peter pan collars. They channel the 1960’s Mod vibe of the season, but are such a cute and preppy way to update an outfit. In this look I included an adorable black lace detachable peter pan collar from Modcloth, which can be put over any sweater or dress for an instant updated look. To match the gold heart on the collar I included a gold bracelet, and these adorable black bow flats. I also included this bag because it brought the color palette together, and who doesn’t love a cute and functional bag?
Sweater Dress Professional
For the working girls out there, this look is for you! Whether you have an internship or just want to look polished and professional, this look is perfect. To start find a great white blazer. Blazers are usually an investment piece, as great fitting blazers can be expensive, but like the sweater dress you can wear it over and over. For shoes I picked a pair of embellished flats, and a pair of heeled oxfords for those who like some height. To hold all your notebooks, laptops and pens I included this adorable velvet bag which goes perfectly with the polka dotted red maroon scarf.
What do you think? Would you wear any of these looks? Do you have a favorite winter or cold weather piece? 
Leave a Reply

