What Will I Make Wednesday: Office Chair

I love a deal just as much as the next college girl, however when my dad brought home this boring office chair I knew it needed some spice. It was black, boring, and lacking in the bow department. I’ve never been particularly handy when it comes to tools, but after a quick tutorial on how to use a staple gun I felt ready to take this chair from boring to bow-ing.

 

Materials for this Makeover

  • A chair
  • Fabric
  • Ribbon
  • Hot Glue Gun
  • Staple Gun
  • Colored Ribbon (I used pink)
  • White Paint
  1. To start this project I went to the local fabric store and fell in love with this black and white damask pattern. Once I got home I measured the fabric on the seat of the chair, leaving fabric hanging on the sides so that I could staple the fabric to the underside of the chair.

        2. I was a bit nervous using a staple gun, but I realized that if I pulled the fabric tightly over the chair (but not too tight) it would prevent the fabric from coming loose.

      3. So after stapling the fabric I painted the bottom part of the chair white.
  4. And the final and finishing touch was of course, a big, pink bow. Now to create the bow, I took the ribbon and folded it from the two ends towards each other and used the hot glue gun to glue them together where they meet in the middle. I repeated this step twice, so that the bow had a very full look. To attach the bow to my chair, I used a piece of ribbon that I wrapped as a cylinder through the wholes in the back of the chair and hot glued it so that it would stay. Lastly I cut two pieces of ribbon to dangle down from the bow, and simply hot glued them to the chair.
Here is the final product! Why settle for an office chair when you can have a black and white throne complete with a bow?
Have you ever redone a chair? Used a staple gun? Tell me about it!
Leave a Reply

