What Will I Make Wednesday: Part II: Pretty, Pretty, Pumpkin

This week my Mom came to visit me in my new apartment, which for me meant getting some much needed groceries! While at the store we saw these cute pumpkins, and decided to get into the Fall and Halloween Spirit. For this project you will need
  • A pumpkin
  • Paint, I used Acryllic Paint and found that it held on fairly well
  • Spray Adhesive, or a glue stick
  • Glitter!
  • A picture of a Maple Leaf
To start this project, wet a paper towel and wash off any dirt from your pumpkin. You might be surprised to see how much dirt came off, I was!

Using acrylic paint, I used white, start to paint your pumpkin. This is the longest part of the process, as it’s best to paint the pumpkin in sections.

I started painting from the top down, and then  turned the pumpkin on it’s side to paint the bottom sections.

Next using a picture of a maple leaf as my guide I drew a leaf using a sharpie.

Then I used the spray glue (following the instructions on the can) to spray inside the traced leaf.

I then quickly dropped the glitter onto the glue before it dried. Tip: Put a plate under the pumpkin to collect any excess glitter.

Next I took black acrylic paint and outlined the leaf, and then painted the stem black.

As a fun finishing touch I took the excess glitter and sprinkled it over the top of the pumpkin around the stem.

And this is the finished product! And as always, feel free to tie an orange or

black ribbon around the stem.

Leave a Reply

